About POP!

POP! is INQUIRER.net’s premier pop culture channel, delivering the latest news in the realm of pop culture, internet culture, social issues, and everything fun, weird, and wired. It is also home to POP! Sessions and POP! Hangout,
OG online entertainment programs in the
Philippines (streaming since 2015).

As the go-to destination for all things ‘in the now’, POP! features and curates the best relevant content for its young audience. It is also a strong advocate of fairness and truth in storytelling.

POP! is operated by INQUIRER.net’s award-winning native advertising team, BrandRoom.

Contact Us

Email us at [email protected]

Address

MRP Building, Mola Corner Pasong Tirad Streets, Brgy La Paz, Makati City

Girl in a jacket

SOFI TUKKER shares new single & video ‘Kakee’

SOFI TUKKER today shares their exuberant new single “Kakee,” an ode to persimmons in Brazilian Portuguese full of double entendres. The playfully seductive track opens their forthcoming second album, WET TENNIS, out April 29th on Ultra. Clocking in under two minutes, “Kakee” is a thrilling oxytocin rush with a giant hook and a juggernaut beat that is like SOFI TUKKER concentrate. All of the things that made the world fall in love with the group are turned up to eleven.

The group shares, “Kakee, which means persimmon in Portuguese and in many other languages, is a song, quite literally, about persimmons. Soph had been talking about how obsessed she is with persimmons for a long time and so she and Chacal (the Brazilian poet we have made a lot of songs with) wrote a poem about them. The lyrics literally translate to “I don’t go by car or by foot. I go by persimmon…. I’m not Sophie, I’m persimmon…. The juice of the persimmon is on my nose and on my chest, so sexy.” We started it as a techno track and then with the guitar it really took a turn. No idea what genre this is. We just know that we love it.

The “Kakee” video was filmed in Hawaii and is full of visual double entendres that correspond with the lyrics. Persimmons are squeezed until they gush and drip everywhere culminating in an ecstatic Sophie laying in a field. It was directed by Aerin Moreno with creative direction from Amber Park and styling by Johnny Wujek who were also the team on the “Original Sin” video.

This is one of our favorite videos we’ve made. The experience being in Kualoa Park in Hawaii was… awe. Being in that environment is so inspiring, and really gives us a sense of our beautiful insignificance (lol that’s a Sophie line of course).shares SOFI TUKKER on the making of the video, “In the first take, Tuck started clapping and that became a fun theme throughout the video. We ran through the valleys, squeezed persimmons… squeezed tennis balls filled with persimmon juice. And it climaxes with Soph quite literally climaxing, on the top of a mountain–she turns herself on by playing the guitar on the top of the mountain, with a persimmon between her legs. It’s as absurd as the lyrics of the song.”

The group has launched a new WET TENNIS merch line which is available on their webstore along with an ombre picture disc vinyl and a very limited number of autographed CDs. The physical formats of WET TENNIS are available for pre-order.

SOFI TUKKER recently released Felix Jaehn’s remix of “Original Sin”, an unforgettable ode to loving yourself and rejecting imposed social mores. Felix puts a spotlight on the song’s tropical elements, building a new jubilant rhythm under Sophie and Tucker’s vocals that turns up the cathartic release of the original. Last week, the group also shared NYC disco house duo Crush Club’s remix of “Original Sin”.

LISTEN TO “ORIGINAL SIN” (FELIX JAEHN REMIX)

LISTEN TO “ORIGINAL SIN” (CRUSH CLUB REMIX)

SOFI TUKKER also shared the video for “Original Sin” which is steeped in playful eroticism and introduces the  joyful and seductive iconography of WET TENNIS. In true SOFI TUKKER fashion, they decamped to a tropical location radiating lush greens and sunlight and realized the video in Oahu, Hawaii with the team that helped create “Kakee”.

SOFI TUKKER revealed the cover art and tracklist for WET TENNIS with the March release of the haunting ”Forgive Me” and its epic video with dazzling cinematography, styling, and choreography. Read People Magazine’s premiere feature for the video here. The track is one of the album’s meditations on resilience, radical self-acceptance, and joy. “Forgive Me” is a collaboration with Turkish producer Mahmut Orhan whose string arrangement on the song draws inspiration from traditional Turkish music. The video was filmed on location at Evcik Beach and Kilyos Beach in Istanbul.

Following a transcendent headline set at CRSSD festival  and their show at Belly Up Aspen which raised $19,560 for Red Cross Ukraine, the group have announced additional dates of their WET TENNIS world tour. SOFI TUKKER will tour across Europe and Australia along with the previously announced North American dates. Due to high demand, they have added shows in sold out US markets. All dates are on sale now and the full tour is detailed below.

SOFI TUKKER have achieved gold and platinum records in every continent other than Antarctica and their global audience began to coalesce around the streams, eventually creating a community that dubbed itself the  Freak Fam. Along with activities related to the group, Freak Fam have helped each other during this difficult time in both emotional and material ways. When many members of  Freak Fam had their prom canceled and were missing the big moments in their lives, SOFI TUKKER held a virtual prom and encouraged everyone attending to wear their freakiest wares. More recently, the Freak Fam  took the form of a six month SiriusXM radio show, Freak Fam Radio, on Diplo’s Revolution Channel 52 which wrapped up in March.

SOFI TUKKER WET TENNIS

WET TENNIS Tracklist

  1. “Kakee”
  2. “Original Sin”
  3. “Summer In New York”
  4. “Forgive Me” with Mahmut Orhan
  5. “Wet Tennis”
  6. “Interlude”
  7. “Sun Came Up” with John Summit
  8. “Larry Bird” featuring Tuck’s Dad
  9. “Hold” with BOII
  10. “Mon Cheri” with Amadou & Mariam
  11. “Freak”
  12. “What A Wonderful World”

 

Las Vegas DJ Residency 

Sun. April 10 – Las Vegas, NV @ TAO Beach Dayclub (DJ Residency)

Fri. April 15 – Las Vegas, NV @ TAO Beach Dayclub (DJ Residency) 

Sat. April 23 – Las Vegas, NV @ Marquee Dayclub (DJ Residency)

Sat. May 14 – Las Vegas, NV @ Marquee Dayclub (DJ Residency)

Sun. August 21 – Las Vegas, NV @ TAO Beach Dayclub (DJ Residency)

 

SOFI TUKKER WET TENNIS TOUR

SOFI TUKKER LIVE:

North American Tour

Sat, May 21 – Washington, D.C. @ 9:30 Club (SOLD OUT)

Sun, May 22 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club (SOLD OUT)

Mon, May 23 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer

Wed, May 25 – Brooklyn, NY @ Avant Gardner – The Brooklyn Mirage

Thu, May 26 – Boston, MA @ Roadrunner

Sat, May 28 – Quebec City, QC @ Imperial Bell (SOLD OUT)

Mon, May 30 – Montreal, QC @ MTELUS

Wed, June 1 – Toronto, ON @ HISTORY

Thu, June 2 – Detroit, MI @ Majestic Theatre

Fri, June 3 – Chicago, IL @ Radius

Mon, June 6 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue

Wed, June 8 – Denver, CO @ The Mission Ballroom

Thu, June 9 – Salt Lake City, UT @ The Depot

Sat, June 11 – Portland, OR @ Roseland Theater (SOLD OUT)

Sun, June 12 – Portland, OR @ Roseland Theater

Tue, June 14 – Seattle, WA @ The Paramount Theatre

Thu, June 16 – Berkeley, CA @ Greek Theatre

Sat, June 18 – Los Angeles, CA @ Shrine Exposition Hall

Mon, June 20 – San Diego, CA @ SOMA

 

Australian Tour

Sat, July 23 – Melbourne @ Forum

Sun, July 24 – Sydney @ Roundhouse

Thu, July 28 – Adelaide @ Lion Arts Factory

Fri, July 29 – Perth @ Astor Theatre 

 

European / Western Asia Tour

Mon, Sept 5 – Warsaw, Poland @ Progresja

Wed, Sept 7 – Prague, Czech Republic @ Roxy

Thu, Sept 8 – Leipzig, Germany @ Werk 2

Fri, Sept 9 – Berlin, Germany @ Columbiahalle

Sun, Sept 11 – Hamburg, Germany @ Fabrik

Mon, Sept 12 – Amsterdam, Netherlands @ Paradiso

Tue, Sept 13 – Cologne, Germany @ Live Music Hall

Thu, Sept 15 – London, UK @ O2 Shepherds Bush Empire

Fri, Sept 16 – Antwerp, Belgium @ TRIX

Sat, Sept 17 – Paris, France @ Elysee Montmartre

Sun, Sept 18 – Utrecht, Netherlands @ TivoliVredenburg

Wed, Sept 21- Milan, Italy @ Fabrique

Thu, Sept 22 – Frankfurt, Germany @ Sankt Peter

Fri, Sept 23 – Munich, Germany @ Freiheiz

Sat, Sept 24 – Bern, Switzerland @ Bierhubeli

Tue, Sept 27 – Vienna, Austria @ WUK

Wed, Sept 28 – Budapest, Hungary @ Budapest Park

Fri, Sept 30 – Istanbul, Turkey @ Kucukciftlik Park

Sat, Oct 1 – Cankaya, Ankara, Turkey @ Odtu Visnelik

 

Festival Dates

Fri, April 1 – Cancun, Mexico @ Tiesto: The Trip (DJ Set)

Sun, April 24 – Houston, TX @ Clé Summer Sessions (DJ Set)

 Fri. July 8 – Sun, July 10 – Split, Croatia @ Ultra Music Festival (DJ Set)

Sat, July 9 – Barcelona, Spain @ Cruilla Festival (DJ Set)

Fri, July 15 – Lisbon, Portugal @ Super Bock Super Rock (DJ Set)

July 17 – Boom, Belgium @ Tomorrowland (DJ Set)

Fri, July 22 – Byron Bay, NSW Australia @ Splendour in the Grass Festival (Live Set)

Fri, Aug 19 – North East, PA @ Elements Music & Arts Festival (Hybrid Set)

SOFI TUKKER KAKEE

Subscribe to our daily newsletter


About Author

Award-winning in-house native advertising and creative agency of INQUIRER.net

Related Stories


Popping on POP!