About POP!

POP! is INQUIRER.net’s premier pop culture channel, delivering the latest news in the realm of pop culture, internet culture, social issues, and everything fun, weird, and wired. It is also home to POP! Sessions and POP! Hangout,
OG online entertainment programs in the
Philippines (streaming since 2015).

As the go-to destination for all things ‘in the now’, POP! features and curates the best relevant content for its young audience. It is also a strong advocate of fairness and truth in storytelling.

POP! is operated by INQUIRER.net’s award-winning native advertising team, BrandRoom.

Contact Us

Email us at [email protected]

Address

MRP Building, Mola Corner Pasong Tirad Streets, Brgy La Paz, Makati City

Girl in a jacket

The paranormal crime and investigation story seen in the Netflix series Trese sums up how Philippine mythology is deserving of recognition for shaping our culture even in today’s modern times.

In addition to the original comic book series, you might want to try reading these locally authored books to get a sense of what and where the characters in Trese originated from. Here are six books you should add to your reading list if you’re into themes similar to Trese’s:

  1. May tiktik sa bubong, may sigbin sa silong by Allan Derain
books trese
Via Ateneo Press Website

Allan Derain has assembled an anthology of various depictions and interpretations of aswang, portrayed in different literary forms— from famous writers such as Nick Joaquin, Allan Popa, Rogelio Braga, and many more. This book tells the story of how monsters and creatures became popular in the country through hearsay, word of mouth, and even how the media represents them.

 

2. Ang Banal na Aklat ng mga Kumag by Allan Derain

books trese
Via Anvil Publishing Website

Another book from Derain, “Ang Banal na Aklat ng mga Kumag” recounts stories from the past from today’s perspective. This book will not only surprise you, but it will also make you laugh. Derain never fails to deliver when it comes to penning a story from the perspective of an aswang.

 

3. Si Amapola sa 65 na kabanata by Ricky Lee

books trese
Via Fullybooked Website

This book is already remarkable for being written by the one and only Ricky Lee,, but apart from that, it’s also equally remarkable for featuring a progressive narrative. It tells the story of a “gay aswang“–a manananggal–who feels and thinks profoundly like a human. Who knew aswangs could have emotions like humans?

 

4. The Legends by Damiana Eugenio

the legends
Via UP Press Website

Damiana Eugenio’s The Legends  gives a more in-depth look at different kinds of legend stories: heroic/historical legends, epic heroes, religious legends, narrations of encounters with supernatural beings, miscellaneous legends about sunken bells, buried treasure, etc.— and even legends behind name of places.

 

5. The Aswang Inquiry by Frank Lynch and Gilda Cordero-Fernando

aswang
Via Philippine Express Bookshop

Unlike those mentioned above, The Aswang Inquiry is actually more of a casual read rather than a narrative. It’s also suitable for younger audiences who just want to know what are the different kinds of aswang present in the country.

With the richness of Philippine literature and its wide selection of books that may teach us a thing or two about legends and myths,  you can also look at the Aswang Project website if you want fast answers to your aswang-related questions.

 

 

________

DISCLAIMER: All views and opinions expressed in this post are solely those of the contributor/s and do not represent those of InqPOP! and INQUIRER.net. The InqPOP! staff assumes no liability for any error in the content of this material. Got something you want to share to the world? Get a chance to publish your awesome creations and share it to the world through our InqPOP! Creator Community program. Send us your stories, videos, photos, fan fic, and even fan art at [email protected]

For more details, read the POP! Creators FAQ page.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

[forminator_form id="331316"]
Tags:

Related Stories

[forminator_form id="331315"]

Popping on POP!