via Business Matters, Pixabay

Flickr to delete photos that exceed the limit, users are encouraged to back-up their photos

February 18th, 2019
0 share

The best thing about taking photos is that you make your memories and moments last forever. And people nowadays do not print physical copies of their photos, rather they prefer to save it through digital copies in their PCs, smartphones, and free cloud storage websites.

With this, one of the most popular image and video hosting service, Flickr is best-suited when you need to organize, share, and save photos. It is an ideal site for photographers because everyone can manage and edit their work.

Flickr was initially founded by Stewart Butterfield and Caterina Fake in 2004, but later on, was acquired by Yahoo in 2005.  Due to financial difficulty last April 2018, it was reported that the company was under the new ownership of online platform SmugMug.

Photo credit: Flickr.com/Francesca Militar

Recently, people shared mixed reactions when they realized that Flickr will cut the “free terabyte storage for all users” starting February 2019. This implies a new capping of 1,000 photos and videos for users who own free accounts.  Anything that exceeds the limit will be autodeleted, starting from the oldest photo. However, this excludes those uploaded and marked with Creative Commons.

I'm downloading Flickr photos before they delete stuff. Haven't used it for years and it's a trip down memory lane. See that wide open window, top left? That was my bedroom between ages 7-17. pic.twitter.com/rKnVk05AG6

— Laura Waddell (@lauraewaddell) February 7, 2019

oh good i have until tomorrow to delete
*squints*
three thousand photos from flickr

— Chris Boyd 🇬🇧🇵🇭 (@paperghost) February 4, 2019

Flickr: "Pay or we delete your photos. What we promised as the old @Flickr in the beginning is no more. We delete and and make the pig up with marketing bullshit" 🙆‍♂️ 🔫

What about a freeze of status? @Flickr @SmugMug pic.twitter.com/YvPIA6pCe6

— Franz (@Franz) February 12, 2019

i used to backup all my photos on flickr a few years ago & theyre gonna delete them next month,,,, so now i have to go thru over 50k photos for stuff i wanna keep rip

— ♡ (@ultyechan) February 18, 2019

Last November 2018, Flickr made a public notice through a blogpost.

“The free terabyte largely attracted members who were drawn by the free storage, not by engagement with other lovers of photography,” Flickr Vice President of Product, Andrew Stadlen writes.  

“This caused a significant tonal shift in our platform, away from the community interaction and exploration of shared interests that makes Flickr the best shared home for photographers in the world.”

But the good news is, the company decided to extend the deletion until March 12 due to complications in downloading photos – so, hurry up and save your photos before it’s too late!

via Giphy

INQPOP Stories we think you might also like:

Here’s why Friendster is friendlier than other social media networks

LOOK: Netizens are triggered by Tumblr’s new ban on NSFW content

This viral Facebook post about orange juice will leave you ROFL

INQPOP! Stories we think you might also like: