About POP!

POP! is INQUIRER.net’s premier pop culture channel, delivering the latest news in the realm of pop culture, internet culture, social issues, and everything fun, weird, and wired. It is also home to POP! Sessions and POP! Hangout,
OG online entertainment programs in the
Philippines (streaming since 2015).

As the go-to destination for all things ‘in the now’, POP! features and curates the best relevant content for its young audience. It is also a strong advocate of fairness and truth in storytelling.

POP! is operated by INQUIRER.net’s award-winning native advertising team, BrandRoom.

Contact Us

Email us at [email protected]


MRP Building, Mola Corner Pasong Tirad Streets, Brgy La Paz, Makati City

Girl in a jacket

Here’s why you should get excited for the 2018 PhilPop songwriting competition

Pinoys can agree that nothing quite compares to the crisp sound and unique style of Original Pilipino Music (OPM). From its soothing tunes to its heartfelt ballads, OPM has established itself in the minds and hearts of Pinoys everywhere.

Via Giphy

This year, PhilPop foundation hopes to further nurture our countrymen’s love for OPM by providing an avenue for talented singer-songwriters to showcase their original works. Through the 2018 PhilPop songwriting competition, artists nationwide are able to express their creativity in crafting original OPM pieces.

Photo Credit: Francesca Militar/INQUIRER.net

Last July 24, the PhilPop foundation revealed the top 30 finalists for the competition. The following lists down the contestants and the pieces that earned them a spot in the finals:

  1. AEIOU – Kenneth John Porres (General Trias, Cavite)
  2. Ako, Ako – Jeriko Buenafe (Taguig, NCR)
  3. Away Wa’y Buwagay –  Eamarie Gilayo and Jovit Leonerio (Davao City, Davao del Sur)
  4. Bumbero – Michael Llave (Quezon City, NCR)
  5. Di Ko Man – Ferdinand Aragon (Cebu City, Cebu)
  6. Ikaw Ang Aking Pag-ibig – Mark Jay Felipe (Guimba, Nueva Ecija)
  7. Isang Gabing Pagibig – Carlo Angelo David (Quezon City, NCR)
  8. Kariton – Philip Arvin Jarilla (Antipolo, Rizal)
  9. Kelan Kaya? – Sarah Bulahan (Mandaluyong City, NCR)
  10. Kilabi – Karlo Frederico Zabala (Valenzuela City, NCR)
  11. Korde Kodigo – Jeremy Sarmiento (Davao City, Davao del Sur)
  12. Laon Ako – Elmar Jan Bolano and Donel Transporto (Tigbauan, Iloilo)
  13. LDR (Layong ‘Di Ramdam) – Russ Narcies Cabico (Quezon City, NCR)
  14. LGBT (Laging Ganito Ba Tayo?) – Kyle Pulido (Davao City, Davao del Sur)
  15. Lilipad – Agatha Morallos and Melvin Joseph Morallos (Baguio City, Benguet)
  16. Loco De Amor! – Edgardo Miraflor, Jr. (Bacolod City, Negros Occidental)
  17. Mahirap Magselos – Paul Hildawa (Makati City, NCR)
  18. Makisabay – Carlo Angelo David (Cebu City, Cebu)
  19. Malilimutan Din Kita – Marvin Blue Corpuz (Koronadal, South Cotabato)
  20. MMRA – Oliver Narag (Valenzuela City, NCR)
  21. Nanay Tatay – Teodoro Festejo III (Davao City, Davao del Sur)
  22. Oka – Michael Angelo Aplacador (Pateros, NCR)
  23. Perfectly Imperfect Human – Barry Villacarillo (Lapu-Lapu City, Cebu)
  24. Pilipit (Paano Sasabihing Mahal Kita) – Sean Gabriel Cedro an John Ray Reodique (Antipolo City, Rizal)
  25. Promise Sorry Note – Michael Angelo Aplacador (Pateros, NCR)
  26. Pwede – Agatha Morallos and Melvin Joseph Morallos (Baguio City, Benguet)
  27. Tama – Michael Rodriguez and Jeanne Columbine Rodriguez (Makati City, NCR)
  28. Unang Adlaw Nga Wala Ka – Therese Marie Villarante and Henrick James Pestano (Talisay City, Cebu)
  29. Utang – Ignacio Dennis Roxas (Malolos, Bulacan)
  30. Yun Tayo – Donnalyn Onilongo (Angono, Rizal)

From these 30 finalists, only ten will be chosen to compete in the PhilPop Finals night happening on November 30, 2018, at the Capitol Commons in Pasig City.

Here’s why you should be pumped to witness the much-awaited finale to this prestigious competition:


You’ll enjoy the diverse collection of entries

As you can see from the top 30, the competition extends to songwriters from all over the country. In fact, PhilPop encourages participants to write in the vernacular of their respective provinces.

“The [PhilPop] foundation’s pivot to change the format and competition timing was imperative to encourage more songwriters outside Luzon and the greater Metro Manila to join the festival,” PhilPop Executive Director Dinah Remolacio explains.

Because of this, more OPM fans can be exposed to songs in Hiligaynon, Bisaya, and other native languages.     


Each finalist has been comprehensively trained in the PhilPop boot camp

When the finalists were chosen in this competition, they were each trained at the PhilPop boot camps under the guidance of esteemed instructors Ryan Cayabyab and Noel Cabangon. This was done in an effort to further develop the skills and capabilities of these songwriters.

“[PhilPop] embraces the biennial campaign by starting with the songwriting boot camps.  And then the festival proper was implemented to arm songwriters with the knowledge and songwriting essentials that will push them to be confident to showcase their masterpieces, even those written in local language,” Remolacio adds.  


You’ll better appreciate how OPM is made

As many of us know, a lot of OPM is streamed via mainstream media. But through this competition, OPM fans can better appreciate how music is made – from the songwriting stage to the actual recording of the song. Plus, this will even give them the chance to enjoy some more new OPM music!

Get a glimpse of the 2018 PhilPop Festival through our #InqPOPSessions episode with PhilPop semi-finalists Sarah Bulahan, Jeriko Buenafe, and Aikee:


About Author

Related Stories

Popping on POP!