About POP!

POP! is INQUIRER.net’s premier pop culture channel, delivering the latest news in the realm of pop culture, internet culture, social issues, and everything fun, weird, and wired. It is also home to POP! Sessions and POP! Hangout,
OG online entertainment programs in the
Philippines (streaming since 2015).

As the go-to destination for all things ‘in the now’, POP! features and curates the best relevant content for its young audience. It is also a strong advocate of fairness and truth in storytelling.

POP! is operated by INQUIRER.net’s award-winning native advertising team, BrandRoom.

Contact Us

Email us at [email protected]


MRP Building, Mola Corner Pasong Tirad Streets, Brgy La Paz, Makati City

Girl in a jacket

YG Entertainment leaves fans in shock after changing the final lineup of BABYMONSTER

Back in May 2021, it can be remembered that YG Entertainment announced that they were preparing to debut a new girl group, to follow after BLACKPINK, which debuted in 2016.

A year later, fans got a sneak peek at the much awaited group, BABYMONSTER, through the official teaser released by the entertainment company.

There was speculation that the group will have seven members after a fan captured seven female trainees entering the company building. YG Entertainment appeared to confirm that theory on December 30, 2022, when they released a teaser poster showing seven silhouettes, followed by a promise to release more about the group on January 1.

Earlier this year, YG Entertainment introduced the BABYMONSTER members one by one through trainee evaluations and live performances.

Members Ruka, Pharita, Rora, Asa, Chiquita, Ahyeon, and Haram were introduced as the seven members of BABYMONSTER, and fans were enamored by their charm and talents. The members trained alongside YG Entertainment seniors such as AKMU, BLACKPINK’s Jennie, Lisa, and Rosé, WINNER’s Hoony and Yoon, and famed dancer, YGX’s Lee Jung, raising the anticipation for the group.

Until today, the group has been shown working together as seven trainees occasionally joined them with blurred faces, which the K-pop community assumed were trainees who didn’t make the group’s final line-up.

Fans were taken aback when YG Entertainment dropped a new teaser on March 5 titled “Last Evaluation,” revealing that BABYMONSTER would not be making their debut as a seven-member group.

Yang Hyun Suk, the company’s founder and executive producer, starts by acknowledging the talent of the seven members.

“After years of thorough consideration, we’ve narrowed it down to seven very talented trainees,” he said.

Moments later, he dropped the shocking announcement, saying, “BABYMONSTER will never be a seven member group. It will definitely be less than seven.”

In order to know which of the seven pre-debut members will make it to the final line-up, the group will have one “last evaluation,” which will be shared with fans before the final reveal.

Fans who have been following the seven members’ journeys took to social media to express their dismay about the company’s decision.

The “Last Evaluation” for BABYMONSTER’s final lineup is coming soon.


Other POP! stories that you might like:

SM Entertainment issues strong warning against the invasion of their artists’ privacy

Senior K-pop idol HyunA receives backlash for her concerns about NewJeans

ASTRO’s Rocky leaves group and agency after 7 years

BTS’ Jungkook shows all of us what being ‘carefree’ means by deactivating his Instagram account

AI K-Pop idols are already having dating scandals


Follow POP! on Facebook.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

[forminator_form id="331316"]

Related Stories

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

Popping on POP!