About POP!

POP! is INQUIRER.net’s premier pop culture channel, delivering the latest news in the realm of pop culture, internet culture, social issues, and everything fun, weird, and wired. It is also home to POP! Sessions and POP! Hangout,
OG online entertainment programs in the
Philippines (streaming since 2015).

As the go-to destination for all things ‘in the now’, POP! features and curates the best relevant content for its young audience. It is also a strong advocate of fairness and truth in storytelling.

POP! is operated by INQUIRER.net’s award-winning native advertising team, BrandRoom.

Contact Us

Email us at pop@inquirer.net


MRP Building, Mola Corner Pasong Tirad Streets, Brgy La Paz, Makati City

Girl in a jacket

SM Entertainment artists gather at their winter palace for their newest album, ‘SMCU PALACE’

SM Entertainment artists truly know how to warm up their fans for the winter holidays!

On December 26, 2022 at 6 P.M. KST, SM Entertainment dropped their 2022 Winter album exclusively titled, “2022 Winter SMTOWN: SMCU PALACE” on all streaming platforms, as well as the stage video for one of their tracks, “Hot & Cold” featuring EXO’s Kai, Red Velvet’s Seulgi, NCT’s Jeno, and AESPA’s Karina.

The concept of the agency’s newest agency-wide winter album is said to be a continuation of their winter album last year, “2021 Winter SMTOWN: SMCU Express”, this time being imagined in the land of their SMCU lore, Kwangya. The album includes 10 tracks, with 2 songs headlining the album as its singles.

58 SM Entertainment artists are participating in the creation of this winter album—Kangta, BoA, TVXQ!, Super Junior (except Heechul), Taeyeon and Hyoheon from Girls’ Generation, SHINee (except Taemin), EXO (except Lay, Baekhyun, D.O.), Red Velvet, NCT (except Lucas), AESPA, and DJs from their Scream Records Label Ginjo, Raiden, Imlay, and Mar Vista.

The album’s first single, “Beautiful Christmas”, had been released 12 days before the album’s release. The song features a Christmas carol dance track and is performed by a collaboration between Red Velvet and AESPA.

The album’s second single, “The Cure”, is a collaboration by the leaders of each idol group under SM Entertainment—U-Know, Leeteuk, Taeyeon, Onew, Suho, Irene, Taeyong, Mark, Kun, and Karina, excluding Kangta and BoA who are solo artists under the label. The song is described as a pop song with an African rhythm and a choir of full scale, and is a song that marks the beginning of SM’s future global movement in response to climate change.

The stage video for the track “Hot & Cold” by EXO’s Kai, Red Velvet’s Seulgi, NCT’s Jeno, and AESPA’s Karina had also been released. The song talks about the difference between how a man and woman express their love.

Which song from the SM Entertainment artists are you looking forward to listening to?

Other POP! stories that you might like:

TWICE announces group’s activities for the 1st quarter of 2023

The New York Times criticized due to the offensive pattern that appears in crossword puzzle

AI generated art is problematic and should never be supported by anyone

Relatable tweets if you’re just like most of us with unending money problems

The ‘bike lane issue’ proves that some Filipinos tend to lack comprehension

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

[forminator_form id="331316"]
About Author

Senior Writer

Related Stories

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

Popping on POP!