About POP!

POP! is INQUIRER.net’s premier pop culture channel, delivering the latest news in the realm of pop culture, internet culture, social issues, and everything fun, weird, and wired. It is also home to POP! Sessions and POP! Hangout,
OG online entertainment programs in the
Philippines (streaming since 2015).

As the go-to destination for all things ‘in the now’, POP! features and curates the best relevant content for its young audience. It is also a strong advocate of fairness and truth in storytelling.

POP! is operated by INQUIRER.net’s award-winning native advertising team, BrandRoom.

Contact Us

Email us at [email protected]


MRP Building, Mola Corner Pasong Tirad Streets, Brgy La Paz, Makati City

Girl in a jacket

Taking Back Sunday releases “You Can’t Look Back”

MAIN PROMO 2016 Taking Back Sunday 7.16 ALL USE by Ryan Russell (web)

PRE-ORDER HERE: smarturl.it/TidalWaveiTunes

Alt-rock quintet TAKING BACK SUNDAY are unleashing “You Can’t Look Back”, the second single and video from their seventh album TIDAL WAVE (Hopeless Records; release date: September 16, 2016).

A contrast to performance footage of their previous video “Tidal Wave”, “You Can’t Look Back” is a gorgeously shot but viscerally-charged video of the band and their friends gathered around a campfire, when something happens wholly unexpectedly to vocalist ADAM LAZZARA. The video can be viewed below:

Gracing the cover of the September 2016 issue of Substream Music Magazine who called Tidal Wave “a full-on rock record from a rock band that still gives a damn about writing rock songs”, Taking Back Sunday’s return to the forefront of the alt-rock music scene has been heralded by Entertainment Weekly, who broke the news of the band’s upcoming album, and praised the title track, pointing out Lazzara’s “rough-hewn vocals with thrashing, guitar-laden rock.”

Showcasing the strengths of the Taking Back Sunday’s continuous and consistent musical evolution from the breakneck kick off track “Death Wolf” to the anthemic “You Can’t Look Back” and the ballad “I Felt It Too”, the album also expands the band’s palette, especially evident on the album’s lead-off single and title track which channels The Clash both sonically and energetically. “I think this idea of making songs that we wrote for ourselves started with Happiness Is… and since the reaction to that album was so positive it really encouraged us to take that a step further with this album,” guitarist John Nolan explains.

TBS_TidalWave_5x5_500 (web)

Tidal Wave Track List:
1. Death Wolf
2. Tidal Wave
3. You Can’t Look Back
4. Fences
5. All Excess
6. I Felt It Too
7. Call Come Running
8. Holy Water
9. In The Middle Of It All
10. We Don’t Go In There
11. Homecoming
12. I’ll Find A Way To Make It What You Want

Taking Back Sunday is Adam Lazzara (vocals), John Nolan (guitars, vocals), Eddie Reyes (guitars), Shaun Cooper (bass), and Mark O’Connell (drums). TIDAL WAVE was produced by Mike Sapone (O’Brother, Mansions) in Charlotte, NC and mixed by Claudius Mittendorpher (Weezer, Drowners, Ra Ra Riot) and will be released on September 16, 2016 via Hopeless Records.

For more information

Follow Taking Back Sunday


About Author

Related Stories

Popping on POP!