About POP!

POP! is INQUIRER.net’s premier pop culture channel, delivering the latest news in the realm of pop culture, internet culture, social issues, and everything fun, weird, and wired. It is also home to POP! Sessions and POP! Hangout,
OG online entertainment programs in the
Philippines (streaming since 2015).

As the go-to destination for all things ‘in the now’, POP! features and curates the best relevant content for its young audience. It is also a strong advocate of fairness and truth in storytelling.

POP! is operated by INQUIRER.net’s award-winning native advertising team, BrandRoom.

Contact Us

Email us at [email protected]


MRP Building, Mola Corner Pasong Tirad Streets, Brgy La Paz, Makati City

Girl in a jacket

Bonobo unveils highly-anticipated album ‘Fragments’

January 14th, 2022 – Singapore – Bonobo aka Simon Green has released his highly-anticipated new album ‘Fragments‘ today (Ninja Tune), which features Jamila Woods, Joji, Kadhja Bonet, Jordan Rakei, O’Flynn, and Miguel Atwood-Ferguson. ‘Fragments’ arrives with tremendous momentum and rave reviews, including coverage from The Observer, Rolling StonePitchforkThe FaderHypebeast, a DJ Mag cover and placement on numerous key playlists and radio programs around the world.

The release also arrives on the heels of two 2021 GRAMMY Nominations that Simon earned in the Best Dance/Electronic Recording category last month, making him a five-time GRAMMY nominee.

Credit: Grant Spanier

Several songs from ‘Fragments’ were shared in advance of today, including “Tides” featuring Jamila Woods, which was a catalyst for the album, “From You” featuring Joji, and “Shadows” featuring Jordan Rakei, which Simon describes as “old school, Detroity, Moodymann and Theo Parrish-inspired.” The first official music video for the album was released in November: “Otomo” was shot over three days in South Africa using a 360 camera that follows a roller skater as he glides through stunning natural settings and cityscapes. As the 360 camera twists and turns, the effect is both dazzling and dizzying, as if the viewer is sent hurtling through a vortex.  Lead single “Rosewood” also landed at #3 on Spotify’s Best Electronic Songs of 2021.

After coming back from touring for two years, Simon felt a sense of everything shifting and unraveling with the California wildfires and ongoing pandemic as he set out to make this new album. Born first out of fragments of ideas and experimentation, the album was ultimately fused together in a burst of creativity fuelled by both collaboration and Simon’s escape into the wild, and even his use of modular synths for the first time. ‘Fragments’ is the sound of struggle and isolation, personally and collectively – and of a surging, joyous return. It is a reminder that out of struggle and disillusionment, creativity and hope can emerge at the most unexpected moments.

Fragments‘ is a follow up to 2017’s ‘Migration‘, which peaked at #1 on Billboard’s Dance album chart and steamrolled into Top 10 positions in several countries. He’s also a favourite main stage performer at music festivals across the globe including Sónar Hong Kong, Laneway Festival Singapore, Glastonbury Festival and Coachella.

Bonobo Fragments Album
Credit: Neil Krug

‘Fragments’ Tracklist

1. Polyghost (feat. Miguel Atwood-Ferguson)
2. Shadows (feat. Jordan Rakei)
3. Rosewood
4. Otomo (feat. O’Flynn)
5. Tides (feat. Jamila Woods)
6. Elysian
7. Closer
8. Age of Phase
9. From You (feat. Joji)
10. Counterpart
11. Sapien
12. Day by Day (feat. Kadhja Bonet)


About Author

Related Stories

Popping on POP!