About POP!

POP! is INQUIRER.net’s premier pop culture channel, delivering the latest news in the realm of pop culture, internet culture, social issues, and everything fun, weird, and wired. It is also home to POP! Sessions and POP! Hangout,
OG online entertainment programs in the
Philippines (streaming since 2015).

As the go-to destination for all things ‘in the now’, POP! features and curates the best relevant content for its young audience. It is also a strong advocate of fairness and truth in storytelling.

POP! is operated by INQUIRER.net’s award-winning native advertising team, BrandRoom.

Contact Us

Email us at [email protected]


MRP Building, Mola Corner Pasong Tirad Streets, Brgy La Paz, Makati City

Girl in a jacket

IV of Spades, KZ Tandingan, Shanti Dope are big winners of 2020 Awit Awards

Musical talent overflowed during a star-studded 33rd Awit Awards, as the top OPM artists were given recognition by their industry peers during an online livestream held last Saturday, August 29, 2020 on the Facebook Awit Awards page.

IV or Spades was the night’s big winner, as it won both Album of the Year for its album, entitled, “CLAPCLAPCLAP” (Warner Music Philippines) and Record of the Year, for the carrier single of the album, “Bawat Kaluluwa.”

”Imposible,” (AFPI- Star Music) a collaboration between KZ Tandingan and Shanti Dope, bagged “Best Collaboration.” It also won Song of the Year for its composers, Gabriel Tagadtad and Shanti Dope.

KZ Tandingan was also awarded Best Performance by a Female Recording Artist for her recording of “Halik Sa Hangin,” (AFPI – Star Music) while Shanti Dope was awarded “Best Rap/HipHop Recording” for “Amatz” (Universal Music).

Morissette, Jason Dy and Kiko “Kikx” Salazar bagged the Best Ballad Recording for the song “Dyan Ba Sa Langit “ (AFPI – Star Music)

TJ Monterde won Best Performance by a Male Recording Artist for “Karera” (Polyeast Records), while Best Performance by a Group Recording Artist was awarded to Ben&Ben for their performance of “Pagtingin” (Sony Music).

The Most Streamed Artist award was won by Moira Dela Torre while Most Streamed Song was “Ikaw At Ako” which was the wedding song of Moira and husband Jason Marvin.

New artists Kyryll (GMA Music) and Kyle Raphael (Viva Records) were awarded Best New Female Recording Artist and Best New Male Recording Artist, respectively. Kyryll’s song is entitled “Silent Rumblings” while Kyle Raphael’s winning song is “Buwan Ng Mayo.”

Best Performance by a New Group Recording Artist was given to the duo “Gibbs.“ composed of sisters Chi and Gab Gibbs, for their performance of “ No Hearts” (AFPI – Star Music). The song also won Best Pop Recording. Chii and Gab are the daughters of Janno Gibbs and Bing Loyzaga.

Best Instrumental Performance was won by the chamber orchestra “Musica Chiesa” (JesComm).

Best World Music Recording was tied between Chocolate Factory’s “Lord” (Ditto Music Philippines), and Vanz Bonaobra’s “Lango” (Polyeast Records).

“Hindi Na Makita” by Wilabaliw (Tower of Doom Music) was awarded Best Rock/Alternative Recording.

Pio Balbuena won Best Novelty Recording for “Lakompera” (Viva Records), while Thyro Alfaro & Yumi Lacsamana won Best Dance Recording for “Sabay Sa Bayle” (Viva Records). Best Regional Recording went to “Mangundang Na’Ta” by Meunnie. (Viva Records).

Quest won Best Inspirational Recording for “Begin Again” (Warner Music Philippines). While Best Christmas Recording was awarded to “A Christmas Song I Wrote For You,” performed by Issa Rodriguez and produced by RJ Jimenez (Universal Records).

Best R&B Recording was awarded to “Sa’yo.” Performed by Jeremy Glinoga & Kikx (AFPI-Star Music), while Best Jazz Recording was given to “Moon Dogs” by Basically Saturday Night (Warner Music Philippines). Best Folk Recording was won by Syd hartha for her performance in “Ayaw” (SONY Music).

Best Song Written for Movie/TV/Stage Play was “Huling Sandali.” which was recorded by December Avenue for the movie, “Tayo sa Huling Buwan ng Taon.” (Tower of Doom Music)

Technical Achievement Awards were awarded to Albert Tamayo for Best Musical Arrangement for “Binata” (Chan Millanes) (Polyeast Records), Happy Laderas for Best Vocal Arrangement for “‘Di Na Muli” (Acapellago) (Viva Records), and Chrisanthony Vinzon and Brian Lotho for Best Engineered Recording for “Too Many Reasons” (BRWN) (MCA Music, Inc.) recorded at Sonic State Audio.

Best Cover Art was awarded to Gray Danao and Juan Miguel Severo for “You Don’t Love Me It’s Okay” by Juan Miguel Severo (Polyeast) and Music Video of the Year went to Edzon Rapisora and Enzo Valdez for “Headlights” by SUD (Warner Music Philippines).

Meanwhile, the People’s Voice Awards, which are given based on voting by the public via Letsvote.ph were won by the following:

  • Favorite Female Artist – Kiana Valenciano
  • Favorite Male Artist – TJ Monterde
  • Favorite Group Artist – St. Wolf
  • Favorite New Female Artist – Selena
  • Favorite New Male Artist– Garett Bolden
  • Favorite New Group Recording Artist– The Vowels They Orbit
  • Favorite Collaboration – “Mabagal” Daniel Padilla and Moira Dela Torre
  • Favorite Album of the Year – Limasawa Street – Ben&Ben
  • Favorite Song of the Year – “Pagtingin” – Ben&Ben
  • Favorite Record of the Year – “Mabagal” Daniel Padilla and Moira Dela Torre
  • Favorite Music Video – “Mabagal” Daniel Padilla and Moira Dela Torre
  • Breakthrough Artist of the Year – SB19

The AWIT AWARDS is an annual awards show is organized by the Philippine Association of the Record Industry (PARI),

The official results of the main awards (AWIT AWARDS) have been tabulated and audited by the auditing firm of PwC Philippines – Isla Lipana & Co..

The official results of the People’s Voice Awards were provided by ZED Philippines.

Listen to the official 33rd Awit Awards Playlist here: https://open.spotify.com/playlist/3jzIl3Dx7nBy6xb8YNiMq7?si=vlif3WAYTju1t89dWPIcgA

Donate to the AWIT FUND to help music frontliners affected by Covid-19. Log on to https://donation.ph/awit-fund for details. (Permit # DSWD-SB-SP-000104-2020)


Related Stories

Popping on POP!