About POP!

POP! is INQUIRER.net’s premier pop culture channel, delivering the latest news in the realm of pop culture, internet culture, social issues, and everything fun, weird, and wired. It is also home to POP! Sessions and POP! Hangout,
OG online entertainment programs in the
Philippines (streaming since 2015).

As the go-to destination for all things ‘in the now’, POP! features and curates the best relevant content for its young audience. It is also a strong advocate of fairness and truth in storytelling.

POP! is operated by INQUIRER.net’s award-winning native advertising team, BrandRoom.

Contact Us

Email us at [email protected]


MRP Building, Mola Corner Pasong Tirad Streets, Brgy La Paz, Makati City

Girl in a jacket

Music industry heats up as top artists vie for ‘Awit’

Moira, Juan Karlos, Unique, This Band, Battle for Top Awards 

The OPM scene is abuzz with  Awit Fever, as the country’s longest-running music awards show hosts its 32nd awards night this October 10, 2019 at the New Frontier Theater in Quezon City.  

Nominated for Best Performance by a Female Recording Artist are Sarah Geronimo, Jaya, Janine Tenoso, Kiana Valenciano, Marion Aunor, and Isabela Vinzon. 

For Best Performance by a Male Recording Artist, the Juan Karlos-Darren Espanto rivalry is re-ignited, with Gary V, James Reid and Mark Carpiojoining the fray.

Second generation recording artists Leila Alcasid, daughter of OgieAlcasid and Michelle Von Eimeren and Jayda Avanzado, daughter of Dingdong Avanzado and Jessa Zaragoza,  are both nominated as Best New Female Performer.

Gary Valenciano has the most nominations in various categories for his collaborations with Lea Salonga, Bullet Dumas, Joey Ayala, Yeng Constantino, Sam Concepcion, Lara Maigue, and the AMP Band in the album, “AWIT AT LARO,” which he produced. Gary V. also got a nomination for his version of “IliigtasKa Nya,” one of the theme songs of AngProbinsiyano.

The suspense builds up for Song of The Year, where 2018’s monster breakout hits — “Buwan” (Juan Karlos), “Tagpuan” (Moira Dela Torre), “Mundo”(IV of Spades), and “KahitAyaw Mo Na” (This Band)  are nominated. The same songs are also among the nominees for Record of the Year.

On the other hand, Autotelic, Moira Dela Torre, Julie Ann San Jose, Unique Salonga, and Hale are all in the running for Album of the Year. 

The AWIT AWARDS is the yearly Award given by the Philippine Association of the Record Industry (PARI)to honor members of the Filipino music industry who have contributed to the creation and promotion of OPM. Winners are chosen by judges who are practitioners in the music industry, including producers, recording engineers, radio disc jockeys, composers, etc. 

This year’s32nd AWIT awards will be held at New Frontier Theater, Cubao, Quezon City, on October 10, 2019 at 8:00 p.m. 

It promises to be a stellar night with live performances by IV of Spades, the TNT Boys, Juan Karlos, Moira Dela Torre, Gary V., Autotelic, Elmo Magallona, Jayda Avanzado, Janine Tenoso, Unique Salonga, Ice Seguerraand This Band. 


About Author

Award-winning in-house native advertising and creative agency of INQUIRER.net

Related Stories

Popping on POP!