About POP!

POP! is INQUIRER.net’s premier pop culture channel, delivering the latest news in the realm of pop culture, internet culture, social issues, and everything fun, weird, and wired. It is also home to POP! Sessions and POP! Hangout,
OG online entertainment programs in the
Philippines (streaming since 2015).

As the go-to destination for all things ‘in the now’, POP! features and curates the best relevant content for its young audience. It is also a strong advocate of fairness and truth in storytelling.

POP! is operated by INQUIRER.net’s award-winning native advertising team, BrandRoom.

Contact Us

Email us at pop@inquirer.net


MRP Building, Mola Corner Pasong Tirad Streets, Brgy La Paz, Makati City

Girl in a jacket

Margaret Atwood to release new poetry collection in November

Canadian novelist Margaret Atwood has announced that she will release her new collection of poetry, “Dearly”, on Nov. 10.

While many are familiar with Atwood for her bestselling novels “The Handmaid’s Tale” and “The Testaments”, she has published several collections of poetry over the years.

Margaret Atwood
Canadian poet/author Margaret Atwood attends the 2019 Glamour Women Of The Year Awards at Alice Tully Hall, Lincoln Center on November 11, 2019 in New York City. Image: Angela Weiss/AFP

“Dearly” will mark Atwood’s first book of poetry in over a decade, following 2007’s “The Door”.

In “The Door”, Atwood explored autobiographical themes like authorial fame and the drive to produce writing, as well as environmental issues and the horrors of contemporary life.

According to publisher and HarperCollins imprint Ecco Press, “Dearly” “brings together many of her most recognizable and celebrated themes, but distilled — from minutely perfect descriptions of the natural world to startlingly witty encounters with aliens, from pressing political issues to myth and legend.”

“In poem after poem, [Atwood] casts her unique imagination and unyielding, observant eye over the landscape of a life carefully and intuitively lived,” the publisher said in a statement, adding that the book will be appreciated by “fans of her novels and poetry readers alike.”

“Dearly” will arrive on November 10 along with the e-book and audio adaptation of the collection of poetry.

Atwood will narrate the audiobook of her new book of poetry, although details about the project will be announced in the coming months.

Aside from releasing her first collection of poetry in over a decade, Atwood has recently contributed to the anthology “Tales of Two Planets: Stories of Climate Change and Inequality in a Divided World”.

The book, compiled by American writer and editor John Freeman, featured additional contributions by the likes of Lauren Groff, Edwidge Danticat, Mohammed Hanif, Chinelo Okparanta and Eka Kurniawan. NVG


Lana Del Rey releases new poetry audiobook ‘Violet Bent Backwards Over The Grass’

Joseph Gordon-Levitt invites Filipinos to participate in global poetry project

Margaret Atwood shares book recommendations for your time in self-isolation

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

[forminator_form id="331316"]
About Author

Related Stories

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

Popping on POP!