About POP!

POP! is INQUIRER.net’s premier pop culture channel, delivering the latest news in the realm of pop culture, internet culture, social issues, and everything fun, weird, and wired. It is also home to POP! Sessions and POP! Hangout,
OG online entertainment programs in the
Philippines (streaming since 2015).

As the go-to destination for all things ‘in the now’, POP! features and curates the best relevant content for its young audience. It is also a strong advocate of fairness and truth in storytelling.

POP! is operated by INQUIRER.net’s award-winning native advertising team, BrandRoom.

Contact Us

Email us at [email protected]


MRP Building, Mola Corner Pasong Tirad Streets, Brgy La Paz, Makati City

Girl in a jacket

Bigbang, BTS cover group dominate Pinoy Kpop Star Contest

(Five-member vocal group PHP grand prize winners of Pinoy Kpop Star Vocal Category and Director LEE Jincheol of Korean Cultural Center (right) )

Vocal and dance performers PHP and Volo Pro Veritas, covering today’s popular Kpop groups Bigbang and BTS, won the 2017 Pinoy Kpop Star which was recently held at Skydome, SM North EDSA.

Seven-member cover dance group Volo Pro Veritas emerged as the grand prize winner of the performance category. The group members came from different dance groups that decided to perform BTS’ hit song ‘Blood, Sweat and Tears.’ Volo Pro Veritas is composed of Anrick Pacifico, John Revilla, Sylvester Villaruel, Mark Iligan, Angelo Cadampog, Neij Reyes, and Jansel Gaoat.

Placing second was FATAL for their BTS cover performance; and girl group So Nice who performed TWICE’s Signal won third place. Both teams took home P 15, 000 and P 10, 000, respectively.

(Cover group Volo Pro Veritas wins the grand prize winner for the perfomance category)

Vocal category grand prize winner PHP is composed of Hergie Manlucot, John Anthony Zayat, Charles Rodriguez, Jonnell Sarmiento, and Francis Florendo. The group performed ‘Bang Bang Bang’ by the world-renowned K-pop idol Bigbang.

Bagging second place for the vocal category was the duo group MiU who won P 15, 000 while Venisse Siy, won third place and P 10,000 cash prize.

Pinoy Kpop Star is the annual K-pop competition of Korean Cultural Center in the Philippines (KCC). It is the Philippine finals for the 2017 K-POP World Festival which will be held on September 19 to October 1, 2017 at Changwon, South Korea. The grand prize winners are the Philippine representative to the first round of semi-finals of the K-pop World Festival which will first be held online.

The judges for the competition were KCC Director LEE Jincheol; Hwang Yohan, grand prize winner of ABS-CBN’s “I love OPM; Gigi Yia of Sparkling Magazine; President of Philippine Kpop Convention Jessica Juan and Dasuri Choi, KCC K-Pop Dance Instructor and host of GMA’s “Day Off.”

Get the latest POP! news delivered to your inbox

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.
About Author

Related Stories

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and
acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

Popping on POP!