Circa Survive release new single “Lustration”; announce new full length ‘The Amulet’ due out Sept 22nd



July 11th, 2017 – Singapore – Very few bands in alternative rock can claim to be as adventurous as Circa Survive, and now the Doylestown, Pennsylvania band is back to explore brand new territory with their sixth full-length, ‘The Amulet’, due out September 22nd via Hopeless Records. To celebrate the album’s announcement the band has shared their imaginative new music video for the first single, “Lustration”. Watch it here:

“Lustration” and its accompanying visual are perfect examples of Circa Survive’s ability to blend massively ambitious sounds and ideas with an immediacy rarely found in music this unabashedly progressive. In 2017, when unconventional guitar music has been somewhat relegated back to the underground, Circa Survive still trades in big intricate riffs and even bigger concepts, daring to find the balance between grand scope and accessibility.

‘The Amulet’ finds vocalist Anthony Green taking a dynamic approach to his penchant for high concepts. The album revolves around parallels between immense and cataclysmic themes like the ending of the world or our turbulent political climate, and the highly intimate struggles of interpersonal relationships. This dichotomy of scale finds common ground in the idea that only although facing hard truths head on can be painful, it’s the only way to reach any kind of catharsis. Green elaborated saying, “when we were writing ‘Lustration’ there was an immediate feeling that it needed to be the first song on the album and the first song that people heard. It centers the album around the themes of life, death, and rebirth, and we wanted the video and artwork to carry that theme as well. The band has changed a lot, our personal lives have changed a lot, and the video sort of symbolizes those changes you go through—as a band, as a person, in relationships—that necessary struggle you experience when you’re trying to embrace something new.

‘The Amulet’ Tracklist

  1. Lustration
  2. Never Tell A Soul
  3. Premonition of the Hex
  4. Tunnel Vision
  5. At Night It Gets Worse
  6. Stay
  7. Rites of Investiture
  8. The Hex
  9. Flesh and Bone
  10. The Amulet

‘The Amulet’ is due out September 22nd via Hopeless Records, pre-order now:

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.